Month: September 2017

Washington Paid Sick Leave law

Starting January 1, 2018, employers in Washington will be required to provide most of their employees with sick leave. Accrual Most employees must accrue paid sick leave at a minimum rate of one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked. This includes part-time and seasonal workers. Paid sick leave must be paid …

Washington Paid Sick Leave law Read More »

All about Form I-9

What is it? Form I-9 (Employment Eligibility Verification) requirements stem from the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986. This act prohibits employers from hiring and employing an individual for employment in the U.S. knowing that the individual is not authorized with respect to such employment. Employers are also prohibited from continuing to employ an …

All about Form I-9 Read More »

Rollout of “Oregon Saves” begins

Oregon Saves is a new state-sponsored program that provides a vehicle for employees to save for retirement. This program applies to all employers who don’t already offer a retirement plan to their employees. Eligible employers will need to implement on the following timeline: more than 100 employees: enroll in October 2017, start participating November 15th, …

Rollout of “Oregon Saves” begins Read More »

Washington Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Washington State is $11.00 per hour in 2017.  This minimum wage applies to all jobs, including agriculture. Employers must pay employees age 16 and older at least $11.00 per hour in 2017. Employers are allowed to pay 85% of the minimum wage to employees under age 16. For 2017, this equates …

Washington Minimum Wage Read More »